GotM: Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

17457635_792494598500_3638560485371429572_n

Picking this months game was a simple decision.

In fact, part of my the reasons my writing priorities have been in the bucket has to do with great games like this one.  I know I shouldn’t have let it take up so much of my time, but Legend of Zelda has always been an all time favorite game series and the latest installment just proved to be even better than its predecessors.

To start with, I will make a note that I played this on my Wii U and not Nintendo’s newest console, the Nintendo Switch.  However, from what I have seen gameplay and graphic experiences are virtually identical and thus should not interfere with my recommendation regardless of which console you are currently using.

From the moment I started up this game, I knew that it would be unlike any other game I had played.  Sure, I had watched some E3 gameplay of the plateau area so I had a little bit of an idea of what to expect, but those expectations were quickly blown out of the water.

From the moment the story starts you are thrown into a vast, open ended world that seems to have no boundaries.  As you walk out onto Hyrule field for the first time, the only indicator of where you should start is a small cutscene indicating an old man waiting for you at the bottom of a hill.  From there you are free to pursue whatever your heart desires.

I was constantly surprised by the amount of things you could do.  There are a plethora of side quests to go along with the main story questline you follow, and each of those side quests brings more and more life to the world you are exploring.  Not to mention the wildlife that roams the lands and the various materials (food or otherwise) you can collect which can be used to make meals, potions, etc to give you that little extra boost to the game.

Because the game is still so fresh (It’s only been out about 6 weeks), I am doing my best to keep spoilers out of my review, but be warned I am about to speak about my experiences a little while being as vague as possible on the exact details.

Playing this game was like a breath of fresh air when compared to the previous installments of the Zelda series, and it even felt different from many of the other games I have played in the past as well.  It just felt good to run around as link in a seamless world.  The amount of times I came across an unexpected surprise because of some minor curious thought like “I wonder what’s over here” is innumerable, and the design of the world is so breathtakingly beautiful that there were several times that I simply stopped to enjoy the view.

17629839_792537976570_2992245328629425525_n

 

The dungeons were unique and creative, and I enjoyed the nature of the bosses that lie within.  However, there was a part of me that missed the more traditional dungeon set up from previous games.  Still, it did not dampen my spirits when there was just so much to take in at all times.  A more traditional dungeon may not have done well in a game like Breath of the Wild.

Finally, a brief word on Ganon.  Without going into detail, I will say that Calamity Ganon was the most intimidating boss fight (across all my recent games) I have come across in a long time.  When I got to him and the introductory cutscene played I remember feeling my adrenaline spike and wondering if I was truly ready for this encounter (and that was after I found the master sword and a good set of armor)!

If Breath of the Wild is any indication on how the teams working on Zelda plan to step forward, then I look forward to see what they will do next.

Seriously, go get this game.

 

Have you had a chance to play it yet?  What are your thoughts?  Let me know!

 

Until then, see you next week.

 

Spoiler Type Picture below.

 

 

 

17504662_792051232010_6627483101554226429_o

 

2 thoughts on “GotM: Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

  1. Now that I know it’s out for the Wii U, I might have to pick it up. Of course, if I do, my son will play it to death, then tell me what I’m doing wrong when I play it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

