Keep it Safe! How not to lose ALL of your work.

288491653_a9b6251477_z

I’m sure all of you have had that moment of terror when your computer simply shuts down, or freezes, mid-sentence of a story or some other project you were working on for hours.  That moment of dread when you wonder when the last time you saved your document was and you can only hope and pray that your word processing software did a good job saving in your place.

It’s a heart dropping moment to experience this, and one that I find myself falling into a little too often.  As a result, I have discovered a few tips that you might find helpful to keep your manuscripts safe and sound on the off chance that something irreparable happens to your computer.

Get Dropbox (or Google Drive)
This is my “go-to” software of choice for most of my projects.  Dropbox is a great place to save multiple files in a cloud server.  You can access it through its website online or you can download the software and your computer will treat it like any other folder.  The best part of all is that it is free.

Another thing that I really enjoy about Dropbox is that you can pick and choose which files you wish to share with others and gave send them a link to the file or share a folder with multiple files in it.

I will make a note here that Google Drive now does many of the same things and so it is also a valid option.

Get a Flashdrive (or External Harddrive)
While having a cloud saving software is incredibly useful, the possibility of something happening to your files and losing your work is still there.  So, I also have found that keeping a “hard copy” is an important thing.  I personally use an external harddisk drive for most of my files, but I also keep a lot of other information on that HDD as well.  A simple flashdrive (jump drive) should be more than enough space for most of your documents.

Keep Multiple Files
This can lead to a cluttered work space in your files if you are not careful, but having multiple files can prove to be incredibly useful.

In this sense, I’m not speaking about having multiple copies of the same manuscript, though I’m sure that is not a bad decision.  When making multiple files I am actually referring to each draft you run through.  My reasoning behind this is two-fold: you can see how much your writing has progressed from your first draft, and if you decide to go back to how you originally wrote something the transition is easier to make.

 

What are some practices you use to keep your book safe?  Let me know in the comments below and see you next week!

 

Leave a Reply

