National Novel Writing Month

nanowrimo-banner

Well it’s that time of year again.  It is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).

But, what exactly is NaNoWriMo?

National Novel Writing Month is an event run by a non-profit organization every year in November.  Thousands of people come together across the world to participate in a community that aids and supports other writers as each attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 Days.  Or, to put it another way, one novel in one month.

Not everyone goes on to get their books published, but many have used it as a stepping stone in their book writing process.  In fact, I am working on a new novel this month myself and should hopefully hit about 6,500 words this week.

If you have ever wanted to write a novel (be it fiction, non-fiction, etc) then this is a great time to do it!  NaNoWriMo has places where you can record your progress and get support from other authors if you have questions or want feedback.  Even if you don’t write the full 50,000, you will still be making progress which means you are already doing more than those who aren’t writing at all.

You might be worried about the time constraints.  After all, 50,000 words feels like a lot to write and 30 days, but truthfully it is much more doable that it appears.  The trick is to try and write in smaller chunks rather than trying to write it all at once.  For me, this means spending about 2 hours every day and writing about 1,500-1,700 words every day.  For others, it might be writing whenever they can; be that 100 words at a time or working extra on off days.  All that to say, there is a way to do it without it overwhelming you.

It is a tough goal to pursue, but there is something incredibly satisfying about creating a goal and accomplishing it.  The process will require discipline (which is something I struggle with constantly when it comes to my writing), but it is well worth it in the end.

 

I invite all of you to join me in this adventure this year, and let’s see how far we can take it!

 

You can learn more about NaNoWriMo here: nanowrimo.org

9 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month

      1. Well if it makes you feel any better, my month has had some serious setbacks. I’m not nearly as far along as I wish to be.

        But never give up! Keep writing, even if you can’t finish with 50,000 any progress is still better than no progress at all.

        Like

  1. This was a really solid breakdown of what the month is all about. I couldn’t help but cruise over to your about me page, and wouldn’t you know it, we share more than a few interests. I’ve added you to my “bloggers to watch” list and will stop by every now and then to check out your posts.

    I’ve also highlighted your blog over at the QE page (hopefully you don’t mind). The post should run later today. On Fridays I feature bloggers who resonate with me, write interesting content, or are just plain fun. You are striking all of these points with me. Best of luck to you this month. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

