Your Audience: Write for You

Innisfree Hotels

Many of the authors I follow, the podcasts I listen to, and the much of the research I have done has had a recurring theme that I wanted to touch on here for a brief moment.

Everywhere I go I hear that, in regards to audience, that your greatest audience is you.

For some of you, this might be a bit of a “no duh” moment, but when I heard this it left an impact on my thought process.  When I think about it though, it does make a lot of sense.

Who is the first person to read your book?  It’s you!

Look at it this way, if you are writing a certain way because you feel it will reach a targeted audience better then good for you!  It’s important to be intentional, but I would ask myself during that process, “Do I enjoy this story?”

If I find that the answer is “no” then I need to figure out what it is I don’t like about the story that I’m typing out.

I find that I do not want to write at all if I am not writing for my own enjoyment, and I think that is something to consider for those who want to write consistently.  The fact is, with any profession, the moment you loose your passion or driving factor for the career you find yourself in is the moment your work begins to lose its quality.

I can’t write for other people, even during my time in college I found essay work difficult unless I felt a genuine interest in the subject matter.

The flow, the quality, and even the quantity of the content has always been greatly impacted by the why behind my writing.

And so I ask you.  What is the why to your writing?

I personally recommend that you temper your writing with the things you carry interest and passions in.  If you like the story you are reading as you write, chances are there are other people who will like the story you have written as well.

Additionally, if you write according to the whims of other people it will take the joy you get out of writing and truly become a job.

I don’t know about you, but while I want to live off of my writing, I don’t want my writing to become something I dread doing on any day.  The moment that happens it might be time to consider returning to a 9-5 job.

That’s all I got this week, see you next time.

Leave a Reply

