Why Write at All?

9355090806_80b6faabc7_z

It has been much too long since I last posted anything on this blog, and to I apologize for that.  To say that life is chaotic would be a an excuse, even if it is true.  The fact is, my writing had lost its place as a priority, and is only now recovering from it’s drop off.  This brings me to my topic for today.

Why write at all?

Everyone has their own reasons for writing.

For some it is a form of catharsis, and so they spend much of their time journaling (or perhaps blogging) to express their opinions or refine their thoughts if only to themselves.

For others it might be that they have passion about a particular topic and they want to help as many people as they can so they write down their knowledge and present it to the public.

Still others might write because they have a story that they feel should be read around the globe and so they work diligently to make sure the story is enticing, enriching, and enchanting to their readers.

Whatever your reason for writing is, there will always come a point where passion no longer becomes the driving force behind your words and discipline becomes your companion if consistency is your goal.  And that is where I find myself.

Writing, for me, is not a mere hobby that I pick up in my spare time.  It is a way of life.  I am one of those people who would rather make a living writing for the benefit of others than I would working some high salary, 9 am – 5 pm job.  People who enjoy that kind of work get an applause from me, because there is something to be said for that kind of steady determination, but it isn’t for me.

This is why I write.

Writing can be just as artistic as the music you listen to, the paintings you muse over, or even the photography you stare in awe at.

I think we can all agree that Art, as a whole, can influence the world we live in (both positively and negatively), and writing has had some of the biggest influences on our world to date.

This is why I write.

I want to positively influence the world not only with the stories I write, but for the life I live, and writing is life.

That is why I always come back to writing when I drift away.  It’s because I have to, because I am unable to not write, it constantly sits at the back of my mind.  Even when I try to ignore it, I am constantly confronted by it.

So, I write.

 

Why do you write?

 

See you next week!

2 thoughts on “Why Write at All?

    1. It’s kind of funny really. There are literally millions of words in the english language and there are still times when there isn’t a good word for what you want to say.

      Like

Leave a Reply

