Inside Out: Not a Children’s Movie

First of, apologies to my readers.  The past few weeks have been hectic to say the least and it left me with little time to write here as much as I have wanted to.  That said, I’m hoping I can maintain a more consistently weekly posting as I had when I started.  That said I wanted to take a quick look at Disney and Pixar’s latest movie Inside Out.

Full Warning: there will probably be spoilers in this post, but I’ll try to keep them to a minimum.

The basic premise of Inside Out is the audience looking into the inner thought processes of an eleven year old girl named Riley.  There are five major emotions present in the story: Joy (who you could argue is the main character), Sadness, Fear, Disgust, and Anger.  They are what control the direction of Riley’s thoughts and actions, and it is their work that moves the story through Riley’s experiences after moving away from her hometown with her family.

While this movie is kid friendly, I would not say it is a “Kid Movie” in the way that I think of them.  The story may center around an eleven-year-old, but the narrative hits very close to home me when it comes through the stages of depression she goes through.  A rhetoric, if you will, that a child simply would not get.

Pixar really outdid themselves this time.  The entire movie I was captivated by how raw the story was.  This girl is clearly going through some sort of depression, to the point that she looses her ability to feel anything at all.  To say that I was tearing up through half the film would not be an understatement, but I would gladly go and watch it again.

The most beautiful part about this whole story, for me, was the redeeming quality of Sadness.  So often I find myself looking at my little girl and thinking to myself, “I just want her to be happy.”  But I often wonder if that is the right wish for her.  Sadness is an intricate part of the human experience.  You can’t really empathize with people if you have never felt something similar.  I’m not saying that I want my daughter to be sad, but I also don’t think I should look at sadness in so negative a light.

Sure, sadness isn’t pleasant.  In fact, it can be quite painful at times.  But the sadness we feel can be a great opportunity for joy to come in.  Have you ever felt like a failure in something?  Has anyone come along beside you during that time turning it into a happy memory?  I think Pixar does a marvelous job presenting this concept in a fun and thought-provoking way and I highly recommend those who haven’t seen it to give it a chance.  The results might surprise you.

Grace and Peace.

p.s.  The short, Lava, before the movie is also really, -really- cute.

One thought on “Inside Out: Not a Children’s Movie

Leave a Reply

