3 Reasons Why You Should Journal

Some Journaling
by Hope

There have been many times in my life when I have shared with people I know that I journal (predominantly male) and have been met with remarks associating me with being like a little girl keeping a diary.  Truth is though, there are some great benefits to taking time to journal daily and we could probably all learn something from those “little girls” and their diary taking.

Here are three reasons why you should journal.

1. Thought Processing

There are plenty of ties when I need to write out my thoughts just to understand what it is that I think.  How many times have you been trying to process a feeling or thought but couldn’t quite put it to words?  For me the number is quite large.

Journaling can help flush out these emotions and thoughts to help develop a clearing understanding on where you stand on a certain subject and can be a great insight to how yourself and how you function.  Which can only help you in the long run as self-awareness, I have found, is instrumental in the success we experience.

You can think of journaling as a sort of paper pensieve.

2. Emotional Health

One thing that I think many people forget about is the importance to stay healthy not just physically but emotionally as well.  If I am stressed, for instance, I do not work as efficiently as I should.

Journaling has proven to be an invaluable tool to relieve that stress.  It’s also proven to be a good way to vent pent up frustrations, or express incredible joy.  My emotional health has benefited greatly from journaling and being able to put my thoughts to paper.

3. Improves Writing

As I mentioned in an earlier post.  The best way to improve your writing abilities is to write.  Journaling is a great way to be consistent in writing.  Whether you wish to be an author or just a successful businesswoman, being able to articulate anything in writing well is important.

Business proposals or dynamic novels, Poetry or contracts, all must have clear and clean writing.  The more you write, the better you get at writing.

And the best part of all that journaling is that it acts as a reminder of how far you have come.  I can’t express how satisfying it is to occasionally go back and re-read some of the things I had written in the past and see how things are different today.  Not only in the events of then and now, but even in the way I write about it.

What are some things that you think journaling could help you with?  or, What are reasons you wouldn’t want to journal?

Let me know in the comments below!

Until next week, Grace and Peace.

Leave a Reply

